Say it issn’t so………

Published October 7, 2016 by Nylabluesmum

Namaste handsNamaste deerest furendss of Thee Purrfect Pad. Mee hopess this bloggie post findss efurryone doin well…… Fingss here are berry uppysettin. LadyMum tooked thee cammyra an cord to thee nice cammyra man an hee sayss thee USB cord werkss fine an cammyra iss fine an hee putted thee fotoss frum cammyra on a CeeDee!! Mee was “Woo Hoo!” an when LadyMum put thee disc into thee Pee Cee there was whirrin an nuffin happened. So now wee finkss sumfing  iss wrong with thee Hard Drive of PeeCee…way to go LadyMum!!!! So wee still not have new fotoss’…. *shakess furry head*. So LadyMum will have to take Pee Cee inn sumtime next week fur Misturss Ron an  Bruce to look at an fix…..

As fur mee, mee thott fingss were goin well since thee ‘TeeVee’ eppysode……mee has been a furry good boy; honest!!  Yesturday (Wednesday) LadyMum put mee innto thee carrier an Aunty Sheila tooked us to thee Vet practice to meet a new Vet. Mee was xcited to meet a new Vet. His name iss Docktur Michael an mee liked him. Hee reminded mee of Docktur Dave…..gentull an quiet an thor-oh when hee xamined mee. Good newss iss mee weighss 10.8 lbss an mee has purrfect teeth an gumss!! Woo Hoo!!! No Ginnygivitis! An hee compleeminted LadyMum sayin shee has tooked furabuluss care of mee an mee iss fizzically healthy. An then; then hee said bad newss…. An mee cannot even begin to mee-yow about this so mee will let LadyMum tell you what happened ok???meditatin-on-mee-future

Hi Everyone! LadyMum here. I have no idea how to tell you what happened. I myself, am still in shock!! Before we went to the new Vet I wrote out a 1 1/2 page history of Siddhartha Henry’s behaviours since I adopted him also noting the treatments he has received during the past 22 months. Dr. Michael says my report was very concise & factual. Guess 2 years of learning how to do Medical Research is paying off. He answered my questions; well the ones I remembered to write down. The Panleukopenia DIDN’T alter Siddhartha Henry’s behavior; however him being removed so young from his Birth Mum & being so sick DID alter him. This is no one’s fault. Unfortunately he was not socialized properly & by the time I adopted him a lot of his behaviors (or lack thereof) where already ‘set’. The FRV-CP injection DID stir things up not only physically but mentally.  After a detailed discussion, Dr. Michael said Siddhartha Henry has Petting Aggression, Play Aggression & Idiopathic Aggression. His recommendation was to put Siddhartha Henry to sleep as he is a ‘threat’ to my safety!  I was like ‘say it isn’t so’!!! He did not recommend him being rehomed because Siddhartha Henry is ‘too unstable’  (like I would even think of doing THAT), nor to return to the farm as he would be a threat to Mary-Ellen & her family & 4 leggeds. Dr. Michael said he would look for a medication that ‘might’ calm Siddhartha Henry down but he really did not have any ideas other than Bach’s & Feliway which I am already using……… I have not heard back from him. I came home with the ‘Littul Purrince’ & am still in shock!! I was also told that Siddhartha Henry could ‘go off’ at any time & attack me because of what happened during the TV incident.  We are taking things a day at a time. I just do not know what to do…I feel like Siddhartha Henry is on ‘Death Row’ & I feel like the Executioner….I ADORE him so much & can’t bear the thought that I would have to put him to sleep. I can deal with a physically sick cat or dog…I can be rational & logic; this scenario makes no sense to me……any suggestions are gratefully received with my deepest thanks.

Mee-you can you believe this deer furendss?? Mee iss still reelin frum what Docktur Michael suggested. All mee can say iss mee iss scared an worried an sad fur LadyMum. This iss such a mess!!! An all mee can say iss:say-it-issnt-soSay it issn’t so LadyMum!!!! What do wee do deer furendss??? **sighss deeplee**….. May thee Eye of Buudha Kat bee upon all of youss’  Siddhartha Henry =^,.^=

94 comments on “Say it issn’t so………

  • Ohh.. it does not feel good to read that. I hope the suggestion given by many will help in some way or the other for betterment. I really wish for all good and betterment.

    I did read a FB post of suggestions working out. Wishes to you both!

    • Namaste Prakash: I have received so much support & advice thru here & on FB. I am overwhelmed with Gratitude! I have already started doing things a bit differently & I can see changes in Siddhartha Henry. I also can ‘read’ his body language better now.
      I think that Dr. Michael just did not want to deal with my cat; I will not go back. I have noticed Vets’ in my area no longer want to treat barn born cats….which is ridiculous!
      Thank you for good wishes! We are on the right path now.
      Sherri-Ellen 🙂

        • It will take some time. Almost like we are re-training ourselves & each other.
          This Vet Clinic originally would NOT take care of barn cats; stray & lost cats or feral cats.
          Some Vets’ are still narrow-minded about cats here & it is not easy for devoted cat lovers like myself to get proper care for our beloved 4 leggeds Prakash!

                • Except Dr. Dave will not take me back into the practice; so that is why I have had so much trouble since I’ve had Siddhartha Henry. His partner does not want ‘barn’ cats in the practice either!

                  • eww! I am really sorry that i misread the previous comment. I understood it as Dr. Dave left the practice at that area and moved to some other place. I only it read it back now and got things clear. My previous comment sounds so foolish now.. 😛 😛

                    Well, I now understand. Jumbled and puzzled it is! I really wish for a good vet soon.

                    • No the comments are not foolish Prakash! It has been such a long road with Siddhartha Henry.
                      Dr. Dave will not even reply to my emails. So I went to Sunset Strip Clinic because Sheila from the Feral Cat group got us in with Dr. Ian. He is a good Vet but refuses to consider the ‘littul Purrince’ needs some kind of medication. So Sheila suggested the partner in practice Dr. Michael as he had helped her other friend’s who have a cat with issues. Can you imagine how upset Sheila was when I told her what Dr. Michael said? Not her fault at all… but she is sad. I will just use Dr. Ian if needed & expect no help with meds. I buy all of Siddhartha Henry’s wet food, kibble & Probiotic & Lysine Gel from the Vets’. Will take him in July for last Rabies injection & hope I never actually NEED a Vet…..

  • Dear Siddhartha, this news makes us very sad : drugs do exist to calm down kitties like you, and we think that working with a cat behaviorist will help you too. It takes lots of time and tons of love, but we know your mom is ready to do it for you. Purrs

    • Mee-you Pixie an Zorro yur rite…about it ALL! LadyMum tooked mee to Docktur Michael fur sum meddycayshun; not to bee told mee should bee put to sleep!
      An shee knowss there are medss butt shee needss a vet to purrscribe an fur sum reason they do not want to???? Weerd isn’t it?? LadyMum iss thee oen payin not them! Wee have no Kat beehaviourist around here so are usin all thee tipss an ideass given an wee have already made sum purrogress!!! Woo Hoo!!!!!!
      Fankss fur stopping bye mee furendss….
      ~~~head rubsss~~~ Siddhartha Henry~~~

  • hello siddhartha henry its dennis the vizsla dog hay wow that is sum krazy ekstreem sugjestchun from that vetnameez persun!!! i am glad to see that things hav gawn in a diffrent direkshun sinse than i am shoor that yoo luv yore mama and that yoo ar not reely a dayndjer to her that vetnameez persun seems to hav gawn strait to the nooklear opshun but with the wurk yore mama has ben dooing with yoo their is for shoor no need for that!!! i am sending yoo lots of tail wags!!! ok bye

    • Dennis yur thee bestest!!! Yur tail wagss are werkin good here!!! Yur rite about thee Vet goin fur thee nooklear opshun an LadyMum was sick to her tummy once it ‘hit’ her what hee meened!
      An with efurryone’ss support here wee have all ready leerned sum new stuff!
      Hope yur feelin better mee furend…..
      ***paw patsss*** Siddhartha Henry xxxxx

  • I Am so glad you are not listening to this vet about putting sweet Prince to sleep. I think you should steer clear of this Veterinary Group all together and find one who believes in rehabilitating pets, not throwing them away. What standard of veterinarian care teaches their doctors to kill people’s pets anyway?

    • Hello again Julie: Where I live, animal life is not so highly regarded. It is about making money. Or finding an easy solution. I do not have any alternative but to stay with practice. I just will not go back to THAT Vet. All Siddhartha Henry needs is 2nd Rabies next year so I will do my best to keep him well & avoid any visits. And the world is changing into a very cruel place once again. This is my reality!
      Sherri-Ellen 😦

  • This is disgusting news. We hate it. Keep trying some calming methods. I used to be quite aggressive as a younun’, now I’m just curious. Mom has special music for Kali and I. Kali has Mellow Moments for when she would get really sick and need to relax. My album is Shoko’s Songs. My songs are relaxing but with a steady beat for focusing. We all have short comings, the plan is to work through them together.

    Shoko and Kali

    • Shoko & Kali, LadyMum here! I totally agree with you both. I did NOT go to this Vet looking for Euthanasia as an answer…..I have found a Classical music channel (CBC-Radio 2) & that helps your cousin Dharth Henry stay calm as does Bach’s & Feliway plugged in. I shall keep doing research & trying new methods of calming Dharth Henry down!
      (((hugs))) Sherri-Ellen & ***nose bumpsss*** Dharth Henry xxxx

  • Siddhartha, this news makes us very sad and very mad. This vet is so wrong about you. Putting you to sleep is not the answer. Others have given your mum some great advice. We also think maybe your mum could consult with and/or take you to an animal behaviorist. The mom has taken us to behaviorist and they are best equipped for dealing with this. Our Zoey takes Prozac because of her fear aggression. If there isn’t one near you, there are ones you can consult with via phone, email, etc. Tuft’s Veterinary School has an excellent program called PetFax. If your mum needs more information about it, please have her contact our mom.

    • Fankss Wally an Ernie an Zoey fur thee innfo. LadyMum sayss efurryone here has given such grate advice! Shee iss so-o gratefull as mee iss….
      An LadyMum wanted a bit of ‘kitty Prozac’…that iss all shee wanted…*sighss*…
      Efurry time shee triess to do sumfin good fur mee; it goess bad 😦
      PHOOEY!!!!
      ~~~head rubsss~~~ Siddhartha Henry~~~

    • Mee-you Noodle thee Kat THIS WAS thee second opinion!!! Can you believe it??? So it appeerss neither Vet at thee practice reelly care about mee.
      They keep sayin mee isss ‘feral’ because mee born inn thee barn! PHOOEY!!!!
      There iss meddycayshun; thee Vet’ss just not want to werk with LadyMum…..
      Fankss fur stopping bye mee furend.
      ***paw patsss*** Siddhartha Henry xxxx

  • I would get a second opinion if you can. What did his original vet say. There has to be something to calm him down. What about .holistic medicine? I have my qualms about this doctor.

    • Hello Bode the original Vet would not even discuss medicating Siddhartha Henry at all. He just keeps saying he is an active ‘kitten’….this active ‘kitten’ is now 2 years & 4 months old….by no means a ‘kitten’. My friend who helps me with Siddhartha Henry recommended the practice partner Dr. Michael & she is very upset with what has happened. I am using Bach’s Rescue Remedy & Feliway Diffuser & that helps ALOT! I do not trust Homeopathy as I’ve tried that & it made the ‘littul Purrince’ worse.
      All I know is putting Siddhartha Henry to sleep is over the top & I can not bear to have to do that!
      Sincerely, Sherri-Ellen

      • Thank you Lord that you are not listening to this so called Doctor. Henry is still young and will calm down with age and possibly some medication. Do not let any vet tel you that he should be put down. He is part of your family.

        • Hello Julie an Izzy Boy: I was so in shock I could not even assimilate what Dr. Michael suggested. And by Friday when I started reading comments it finally hit me!
          And you are right. Siddhartha Henry is my ONLY family. I am widowed; childless & my Human family do not bother with me. I took Siddhartha Henry on aware he had some issues. I was not prepared for the Aggression. I do want to help him & I have done what I can & now every Vet shuts me down. So I am at wit’s end. but I am NOT giving up!
          Thanks for stopping by.
          Sincerely, Sherri-Ellen

  • Me frind me is beri happi Aunti Sherri-Ellen no take u back to bad Michail. Sumtime me is like u an me Mum let me alon an me calm. Eberi ting be gud zoon. Me Mum an me lov U an Aunti Sherri-Ellen ❤

    • Fankss so-o much Blackberry an Lady Fatos fur stopping bye. LadyMum says mee not goin back to Docktur Michael an shee has so good info here shee iss goin to try more fings swith mee to keep mee calm!!!!
      ***paw kissesss*** to 2 of mee favorite ‘Ladiess’
      Siddhartha Henry xxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Wow…I almost don’t know what to say or think!! How can a first visit end up being a death sentence? That just doesn’t make any sense. I’d look at other herbs, essential oils and homeopathic remedies and resort to euthanasia as a VERY LAST option. Not knowing much about cats, I sadly cannot recommend any remedies though I know lavender essential oils can calm anxious dogs. I’m sure there are other ones that can be used on cats, too. Good luck. Hopefully something will help. Fingers and paws crossed. 🐾

    • Fankss Sam an Sam’ss Mumma…….mee was purrty shocked all so.
      It was like thee Vet’ss mind was made uppy befur mee even say him!
      LadyMum rubss Bach’ss inn mee ears 2-3 times a day if needed an wee have Feliway Plug Inn what helpss calm mee down.
      LadyMum has so many commintss to go thru’….mew mew mew…mee will outgrow thiss befur shee gets thru all of them!! 😉
      ***nose bumpsss*** Siddhartha Henry xxxxx

    • Mee-you Lady Annie hee iss thee partner of Docktur Ian…so hee new a lot about mee an with LadyMum’ss report hee said mee iss a threat an should bee put to sleep! LadyMum iss outta shock now an says there has to bee sumfing else to help mee….shee not goin to give uppy!
      An wee wish you an thee Courierss a good weekend all so.
      ~~~head rubsss~~~ Siddhartha Henry~~~

    • I totally agree Katty! This was the ‘icing on the cake’. I will NOT use Dr. Michael again; just Dr. Ian for Rabies when needed. And just think it is Jewish New Year so 5777 starts out as crappy as 5776 ended! Awesome!!!! 😉

  • Oh no, that vet must be from Finland, their only “medicine” is that terrible thing. We don´t believe what he said of S. Henry. Henry has had bad times in his life, but he trusts you and loves you. He is a special cat, he is for taking care for more than an ordinary cat, but to kill, no way.
    Dear friend, find a vet who likes cats ans understands them and just continue your life with Henry, and forget that stupid vet.
    Kosmo´s mom,
    Finland.

    • Hello Kosmo’s Mum: I have exhausted Vets’ in the area so will stay with Dr. Ian. I just will have to handle Siddhartha Henry’s problem on my own with Sheila & Mary-Ellen’s help. I have lost faith in ALL the Vets’ here.
      Siddhartha Henry is not always aggressive; it is a behavior that surfaces…for the most part he is sweet & lovable. As far as Dr. Michael is concerned it would have been better if Siddhartha Henry had died as a kitten. And I paid $89. for THAT!!!! I surrender!

      • Don’t give up, Henry is a young cat, every day will be easier. We have had always cats, all abandoned with many problems. One couple destroyed at the beginning everything, walls, lamps, flowers, furniture. They peed on walls…but they lived with us more than 13 years, and they learned more day by day.
        I am ready to talk with you any time you want.
        Kristiina, Kosmo’s mom

        • Thank you Kristiina for sharing your experiences with me. I am NOT going to give up on Siddhartha Henry…I love him a lot & he deserves a chance at living a life….
          WOW what you went thru was serious & yet you found a way to help your cats! I totally respect that!!!
          (((hugs))) Sherri-Ellen

  • This is our first visit here; we heard there was an issue from Phoebe’s blog. This guy is…. wrong. We’re going to agree with Summer’s human here – it’s a matter of triggers. It’s time to play Feline Detective and get deep into his behaviors. This stuff isn’t truly happening randomly. We will keep you in our purrayers. We know this isn’t easy to live with.

    • Hello Toby & Leia I totally agree the behavior is not random & I know some of the triggers already & am still watching for more. All I wanted was something to try as a Calming agent to boost Bach’s & Feliway. I did not want to turn Siddhartha Henry into a zombie or have him PTS. Another $89. wasted!!!
      Thank you for your prayers & support.
      Sincerely, Sherri-Ellen & Siddhartha Henry =^,.^=

  • I have to agree with Speedy in the pardon my language, so everyone, sorry you all have to read this from me, the kind cat, but…that new Vet is an asshole and should be put to sleep. That idiot is not interested in helping cats. He shouldn’t be in practice or he needs to practice getting his head out of his buttocks. He needs to move to that country where they hate cats for killing birds. That is absolutely the most stupid thing ever.

    • Mee-you Brian you mee-yow it mee furend!!!! Mee wanted to ‘smackypaw’ him aftur hee told LadyMum shee should put mee to sleep! At ferst mee thott Docktur Micahel was all rite…..
      It seemss if wee catss are labelled ‘feral’ wee are less than feeline an should bee dun away with. LadyMum paid $89. fur nuffin butt more tearss……
      Mee missed an hour of Condo time!!! PHOOEY!!!
      ***nose rubsss*** Siddhartha Henry xxxxxxx

  • What about talking to an animal behaviorist? I’m not sure where you live but there may be one you could speak to over the phone. I wrote a story just this past Monday about a kitty named Vivian who had fear aggression. Her person took her to see a behaviorist at UC Davis Veterinarian School (I can find more information if you want me, too). Vivian was prescribed prozac and put on intensive behavior modification program that worked wonders. I know there is a behaviorist that will talk to people for free at Treehouse Animal Society here in Chicago where I live. I am happy to find the number for you if you want me too.

    • Yes pleeze Rosie an Ruby can you find LadyMum thee phone numburr?? Shee wants to help mee an wood bee so happy to find sumone to help her, help mee!!!
      An LadyMum said all shee wanted was a littul Kitty Prozac an was told it not werk?????
      Fankss fur yur help!
      ***nose rubsss*** Siddhartha Henry an (((hugs))) LadyMum

  • I’m sorry but; I wouldn’t go to that vet anymore if that’s his solution. I don’t know what else to say but; It upsets me too. I think your dealing well with your kitty.
    Sue B
    Charlie,Cashew,Garfield,Tubby,Hope

    • Hello Sue: I HAVE made a few mistakes with Siddhartha Henry from what I read online. I can amend my reactions to his behavior. I will NOT go to Dr. Michael again. I will only use Dr. Ian for the Rabies shot next year & Emergencies. I do not trust the other 2 Vet practices in town so we are on our own.
      (((hugs))) to the Fab Five & you, Sherri-Ellen

  • Bloody Hell…Sorry Sis and PSH for such Language.Siddhartha is not that aggressive,and is no more so than my old Black cat Smokey was at that age.He was a barn cat too so was a bit of a wild child even if he lived with all the other barn cats and farm dogs.I had him from 6 weeks old so he didn’t get that much socialisation either but He did have a Springer Spaniel to rough house with as he grew up so that kept him in check a bit plus a lot of love and patience from me and he grew out of most of those behaviours.it did take time but by the time Caramel came along my first bunny He was much calmer and settled and not so wild.don’t get me wrong he would still have his crazy pants moments but not to the extent he was when he was when he was Siddhartha’s age.The fact he is sometimes over excited when he plays or gets petted is just down to energy that needs to be burnt off and you taking him for his walks is helping with that.All cats when the are young and reasonable fit and healthy can get like this.This new vet is just taking the easy option which to me would actually be the hardest option for you to live with.If I could have Siddhartha here I would have him in a heart beat even with having Speedy,I know he would do just fine just as I know he will do just fine with you too.Just don’t be afraid of him because He is not try to hurt you he just gets bored and over excited sometimes.Get him out for as many walks as you can so he can burn of that energy and doesn’t get so bored.
    Here in the UK all cats are classified as feral even if they are a pet and well looked after,they even have the legal right to room through anyone’s property because it is the nature of a cat to have wild tendencies and that’s the point Cats will always have that bit of wild in them that can’t be fully trained away like it can with a dog its just as they get older they become calmer and more settled and less wild.If you find it is to hard to cope with then there are plenty here that would help to rehome him in the right home.But I do believe that you too are meant to be together,you just need to learn not to be afraid when he has his over excited moments which in the grand scheme of things is not that often,Much Love to you both,always here for you,xx Aunty Rachel

    • Bloody H*LL is right Rachel!! As I was in ‘shock’ I did the blog…today reading all the comments & suggestions it is like the shroud of shock has worn off & I want to fight for Siddhartha henry’s right to live! Euthanasia is NOT an answer to the problem. It just shows P SH IS a problem…
      I have to wait til Tuesday for a call from Dr. Michael & I asked the Receptionist to ask him to find a Behavioral cat person also. Now I’ll be seen as a nuisance….whatever!
      I too, believe Siddhartha Henry & I are meant to be together. I KNOW I was doing the right thing asking for help with medication to get him & myself thru’ the next 6-12 months. He HAS calmed down with less ‘crazypants’ behaviours in general. His out of the blue aggression is more pronounced. So less outbursts with more energy. And no warning signs. I know some of his triggers. Vet suggested I try Bach’s & Feliway…..I told him I have been using both for over a year.
      Anyway, the shock has worn off & I am going to do my best for Siddhartha Henry. Once I have had chat with Dr. Michael I will not take him back to him. I KNOW there is a ‘bias’ there as P SH was born in a barn to a ‘feral’ Mum.
      Truth is Exotic breeds: Siamese; Himalayan & Burmese are KNOWN for Aggression no matter where they are born. (shows how much the Vet does not know!)
      Thank you for your support Sis. We will get thru this…
      (((hugs))) an ❤ Love ❤ Sherri-Ellen & Siddhartha Henry =^,.^=

      • That is very true about,Siamese and Burmese and Himalayans,my mum had 2 siamese and they both could get a little aggressive during play and petting time it was their way of saying that’s enough.but I’m don’t mind roughhouse a little roughly with cat’s as in the end they normally give up and wander off.I guess that’s because I am not afraid of aggression even when it comes to dogs I roughhouse with them too its a good way to teach them limits on how far they can go and if I get scratched well that’s my fault.I guess it would help if your home was a bit bigger so that he could tear around like a loony a bit more.He’s a nosy inquisitive young cat and this is what they do when they get bored and Siamese,Burmese and Himalayans just like that too.you will learn Siddharthas Triggers as there is always a warning sign even if its something little so that you can just move away from him leave him to calm down.he’s a clever cat so will soon learn that from you,that you’re giving him some space for a bit.he could even learn to move away from you when he needs Space on his own for a bit,you just both need to learn each other boundaries then things will improve,xx Rachel

        • I have never had trouble with Siamese altho’ I know plenty of people who did. I am terrified of Himalayans as I have been attacked by them (plus I am allergic). I did not know Burmese were prone to aggressiveness. I should have as a Burmese is actually a type of Siamese…..
          I keep looking for signs. Something I now can identify is Siddhartha Henry getting ‘overtired’….so I bring him inside & he will go for a nap on his blanket.
          And I “Bach’ him as soon as he appears agitated…that helps calm him down quicker.
          I am going to continue with Feliway as it does work.
          And I am NEVER taking him to Dr. Michael for analysis again! 😉

          • Even Speedy gets grumpy at times and Thumper my last bun used to be very aggressive ,he would bite and scratch all the time till he was 3,all pets can get aggressive at times Thumper was always drawing blood either by scratching or by biting you just had to be quick with you wits with him….I was more warey of him than I have ever been with a cat or a dog…..Rabbits teeth go deep when they bite hard and the blood after just pours out.Can you imagine what that vet would say about Thumper?You’ve done well with Siddhartha and I expect there is only a little more to figure out with him and you’ll have him down pat,xx Rachel

            • Hi Rachel: I have never really dealt with an aggressive animal before. So I admit I have been overwhelmed by P SH at times. I also have reached out for support & gotten a lot of help. From you especially & I have done everything you suggested. This TV deal was a random event & I did over react. I never went to Dr. Michael looking for justification to put P SH to sleep!!
              And I KNOW how bunnies can bite & be grumpy….I would never take a rabbit to him either! 😉
              I think you are right that once I figure out more signals or triggers things can be sorted out.
              Thank you Sis for standing by me during this difficult time!
              (((hugs))) & ❤ LOVE ❤ Sherri-Ellen

              • I know you only went to Dr Michael for help in dealing with P SH’s behaviour.And the TV thing was a random event….though thinking about it I am not surprised at P SH reaction to it,I think it would confuse most cats when the are use to lying on the top of a tv and yes you did overreact but that is no surprise either after the year you have had too so don’t be to hard on yourself when you consider all of that I think you and P SH have done amazingly well.You both will get through this,I am sure of it,xx Rachel

                • Thank you Rachel for your support. I KNOW there are people on the blogs who are upset with me for being rough on P SH. That was never my intention. After finding out I was given Saline Solution instead of Lidocaine I just sort of ‘lost the plot’….plus I have been in agony from March thru September. My pain is part of the overall problem. Or rather not having the proper medication is the problem. Siddhartha Henry is back to playing TAG with me & he let’s me snuggle & kiss him w/out incident.
                  I think you are right that in some way the new TV spooked him. Now it is strapped down there has been no further incident.
                  We are doing our best here to understand each other….
                  And I will not ask Dr. Michael for help again 😉
                  (((hugs))) Sherri-Ellen & **nose bumpsss** Siddhartha Henry xxxx

  • i’d definitely change vets straight away. I have had lots of rescue cats in the past, some of them with behavioural problems, and I don’t think my vet at the time would ever have suggested euthanasia as a ‘solution’. Sounds like a cop-out to me. There is lots of good advice here from caring people, and I hope you can find a kinder way to resolve things for Siddhartha and for yourself . . . {{{hugs}}} from Maureen

    • Hello Maureen, Solo, Krissy an Tess…I have been wondering how you are & I see there is a new member to the family! Thank you so much for stopping by & sharing with us. I will not take Siddhartha Henry back to Dr. Michael. I will have to take him for his Follow-up Rabies next Summer. I will look for help thru Internet & on blog.
      Now that the ‘shock’ has worn off I feel like it was a cop-out also. Dr. Michael labelled him ‘feral’ as he was born in a barn & taken from feral Mum @ 6 weeks of age (as was his Brother & Sister). Obviously he has no compassion for cats from those kind of situations!! And Siddhartha Henry is a Burmese & that breed can be prone to Aggression so this Vet is uninformed.
      Thanks you for your support.
      Sincerely, Sherri-Ellen & Siddhartha Henry =^,.^=

  • You have had some excellent advice here, Sherri Ellen and Siddhartha! I have made mistakes with a kitty with behaviour problems and I regret it to this day, as you know! With Austin though he is the sweetest nature, there are still triggers which set him off into attack mode and I have learnt what they are and avoid them. So he isn’t the most cuddly of kitties, but that’s ok, he comes to me when he wants and that makes our relationship all the more special as he comes to me more and more as he gets older. I hope and pray P SH and you will be able to come to a resolution soon xxxx

    • Hello Carolyn: I am overwhelmed with Gratitude & Thankfulness at all the comments & advice given to me about Siddhartha Henry. I remember you telling me that Austin had similar issues. I know the warning signs for the littul Purrince when he does not want to be petted or fussed with. The rest of the time there are NO signs; no warnings. So I have to learn more about him….his triggers are a mystery to me. So it is one Day at a Time for us!!!!
      (((hugs))) Sherri-Ellen

  • I am angry at this advice from the new vet……after reading the long list of behaviors he saw I’m sure he just figured the easiest solution was to euthanize Siddhartha and that would be the end of it. The EASIEST answer is not always the RIGHT one though. I firmly believe that Siddhartha is tuned into the unsettled life around him – you have your own health issues dear Sherri-Ellen which must confuse him at times and he tries to get attention the only way he knows how – by acting out……unsettled surroundings make for unsettled people and animals. This is nobody’s fault – it’s just the way it is sometimes. Going back to the farm isn’t the answer nor – heaven forbid – is euthanasia. Rehoming Siddhartha into a different atmosphere might be the answer and it wouldn’t involve medicating him. That’s not to say that he might not need medication at some point if being in a different home didn’t help him calm down, but rehoming would be a wonderful way to try helping him – AND you! I know there are people who would love to give him a home – certainly first and foremost where his Phoebe is with Ellen – I know she will do whatever it takes to get him from you to her home in Massachusetts. I know she’s offered before and she is serious and has gone through all kinds of situations with all kinds of cats. Please consider this and do NOT listen to this new vet who obviously just thinks the “easy way” is the only way. Euthanizing Siddhartha is NOT right. You need the space to deal with your own health issues – taking care of Siddhartha even as much as you love him, causes you to be stressed which in turn causes your health to be compromised. You and Siddhartha are “feeding off” each other in that regard…….you both need a break. All of the above is said with LOVE and CARING – I hope you know that!!!!!

    Hugs, Pam

    • Thank you Pam. I know you are being loving & caring & I have given everything you say deep thought. IF Siddhartha Henry did not have IBS or the eye issue I would have given him back to Mary-Ellen & he could have had lived at the farm. I have thought about Ellen’s offer at great length. I have to decline because were something to happen P SH it would NOT be fair to Ellen, her hubby or her other cats. If he were to attack anyone in her family that would finish me off. And to put that level of responsibility onto a friend is not fair.
      As much as we feed off each other, there must be a way to work around that. That is why I wanted some ‘Kitty Prozac’ for the rough times.
      I still have a lot to read here & I have a lot to figure out.
      I appreciate everyone’s suggestions & advice…..
      Thank you for your support Pam! it means a lot to me!
      (((hugs))) Sherri-Ellen & ***nose bumpsss*** neffkitty Siddhartha Henry xxxx

  • Back in the 80s I had a cat named Norman – he was one who came to me by way of his mom, Laura, and he was wild and crazy. I gave him away but with in a week the person brought him back saying he was too aggressive. He was aggressive but as he got older and matured he calmed down. It is my prayer Siddhartha will calm down as well . Follow your heart to do what is best for you and your precious cat. For me, once a cat (or dog) comes into my home, they are there for their entire natural life – no matter what behavior they have. Find a vet who will support of your decisions regardless of what that decision is. We’re praying for you.

    • I totally feel like you Sabine! Once a 4 legged comes to me; he or she is MY responsibility.
      If Siddhartha Henry did not have IBS & the eye issue I would have been able to let him go back to the farm & that would have happened a long time ago. And I would have been able to visit him as his previous owner & I are good friends.
      However, with the bowels & eye issue my friend could not keep him separate & out of the cats’ foods & she has other animals so 1 on 1 care would be virtually impossible for Siddhartha Henry. The support I am receiving here is amazing & I am going to keep working with my ‘littul Purrince’. He does not have as many ‘episodes’ now; altho the ones he has are intense. So there is hope….
      Thank you for your support.
      {{{hugs}}} Sherri-Ellen

  • Did you try to change food? Some stuff in food like to much carbohydrates can trigger aggression like with some humans, or stuff they put into the food like coloring or other supplements.

    And If I was you I would scratch that vet his eyes out 🙂

    • Hello Billy the Time Cat I have Siddhartha Henry on low protein/low fat Royal Canin G-I food as he has Irritable Bowel Syndrome. The food has not been an issue & his bowels are calmer. I am very careful about what he eats. That was a great suggestion tho!!! Sherri-Ellen
      Mee-you BillyTimeKat mee iss with you!! Mee wood like to scratchy thee Vet all so! Mee could not believe what hee said, nor could LadyMum!
      **nose bumpsss** Siddhartha Henry xxxx

  • Siddhartha Mum and I asked for some advice on FB and have come back as two people offered sensible advice I would like to pass on. I would also say – you are getting some great advice here.

    First a lady who works with a therapy cat and who is a nice lady. She does not know if you are open to alternative treatments but suggests ” flower essences and an animal communicator turned my agressive male cat into the proverbial pussycat ….”

    Second, my rescue friend Cori who I have met and who I can vouch for an 100% rock solid sensible. ” I have a fellow rescuer that took on a super aggressive cat. Kitty Prozac turned her around. She got the transdermal gel so it was super easy to dose on the tip of the inside of the ear. Doesn’t work for all but certainly worth a try!”

    If I get any more suggestions I will post them here for you. That transdermal gel is worth investigating!

    Marjorie and the Dash Kitten Crew

    • Hello Marjorie! Can you tell me the name of the Transdermal Gel you know about? I then could research it & see if it is here in Canada. I am using Bach’s Rescue Remedy 9rubbing in ears) & it works well. And I have Feliway Diffuser & will continue to use it. Thank you so much for your support & suggestions. You are one savvy cat lady!
      (((hugs))) Sherri-Ellen

  • My human and I both don’t think this is right. Siddhartha is a wild child, but he does not sound incorrigible to the extent of needing to be euthanized. My human has lived with a couple of aggressive cats. Binga is actually one of them, and the other was her soul cat, Harlot. My human just learned what Binga’s limits were and what set her off and doesn’t do them, or would put her in a time out until she calmed down. Because she’s older, she’s a lot tamer now. Harlot was actually dangerous (she once bit into my human’s cowboy boot so fiercely she chipped one of her canine teeth), but it was the same thing. My human avoided her triggers. You may think Siddhartha is unpredictable, but I bet there are triggers there and you haven’t figured them out.

    I think that if my human had approached that vet with a laundry list of the things that either Binga or Harlot had done, he would probably have recommended they be put down too.

    • Hello Summer & Janiss: When I took the list to Dr. Michael it was to inform him that there is a pattern & to find out what medication I could safely use on Siddhartha Henry. I was in a state of disbelief when Euthanasia was suggested. Even when I wrote the blog Janiss & Summer it still had not really sunk in. Until this morning when I saw all the replies & support. it was like I came out of the ‘fog’ of disbelief & shock.
      And to think Binga is your wild child…she is such a photo bombing cutie…
      All of you have given me hope & that is the greatest gift of all.
      Thank you for your support!!!
      (((hugs))) Sherri-Ellen

  • I don’t know your cat, however, I would have to say that euthanasia is not an option. I could not bring myself to do it when Xerxes was so sick and I am sure you could not bring yourself to do it in this circumstance.

    That being said, we have had several cats we classified as “No Pet Me”. We did not try to pet the cat or play with it. We fed it and talked to it. After a while the cat may or may not let us pet it. I would suggest putting the cat somewhere where it can not get to you or your loved ones when you sleep.

    When around the cat, wear a long sleeve thick shirt. If you think the cat might go for your eyes, wear safety glasses. We have dealt with quite a few strays. These are afraid of people and very unsocial. In time, they usually come around.

    We are praying for you. By-the-way, do not let this cat near children, even if he does calm down. Cats are unpredictable. Xerxes clawed us up good. I once said we should get one of those attack dog training suits. He did calm down. It took a while.

    • Hello David & thank you for such useful tips. Thankfully it is just Siddhartha Henry & myself. I always wear socks so my feet do not get nipped at. And I wear glasses….funny thing>>>when Siddhartha Henry was younger he would actually lift the glasses off my face! He never went for my eyes, but I realized how clever he was at that point.
      What I have learned in the last few days is that Burmese can have Aggression problems….so now I can do more research. And I believe with his rough start in Life he has a few more challenges than I realized. Your Xerxes sounds like Siddhartha Henry…..as he calmed down I believe my’ littul Purrince’ can calm down & will with me being more educated about what sets him off & how to cope.
      Thank you for sharing your experience with me.
      Sincerely, Sherri-Ellen

  • Ditto what the others said…this makes me feel angry sad and overwhelmed at the same time. That vet is not rational, because any furry one can ‘go off’ at any time, even those not deemed to be problematic. And what a bout peeps who go beserk and kill people?They are far mor dangerous than kitties,and no one says PTS for them…

    I will pawyer that this will not be a major issue and that over time it may gradually fade out, esp with the use of the bach and feliway. We do not put mental humans to sleep so why an animal who is not suffering and not doing anything awful…time lots of it, maybe years is what will be the help, lots and lots of patient loving tolerant care, good noms, and good kitty activities to tire him out in nondestructive ways. It sounds like he has a form of kitty PTSD…no good reason in my head to PTS.

    And don’t even bother to go back to that office at all. Too risky.

    We will all be purring hard for calmness and equilibrium to rule.
    ((((( ♥ )))))

    • Hello Ingrid I was so in shock that when I actually did this blog it still had NOT sunk in. Trust me, when I saw so many comments on Friday it *hit* me & I realized what Dr. Michael suggested. For the most part, Siddhartha Henry has responded well to Bach’s & Feliway Diffuser. He just needs something else to level him out. And I DO AGREE with you that he has some sort of PTSD from almost dying as a 6 week old kitten & being taken from Momma Tori. I will continue to search for information to understand my ‘littul Purrince’ & to help him settle down. I KNWO there is an answer out there somewhere!
      Thank you for stopping by & for your support; it means the world to me!!!
      (((hugs))) to jack & Pipo & Minko Sherri-Ellen & ***paw patsss*** Siddhartha Henry xxxxx

  • Unsettling meeting indeed. I don’t know what to say … glad to read all the comments above from people who know stuff. I’ll say an extra prayer for you guys tonight before I fall asleep. McDuff and I are thinking of you very much at this difficult moment.
    Purringly,
    Rebby & McDuff

    • WOW Rebby so many comments & some great suggestions & advice! This is why I LOVE the Blog world! People REALLY care & are willing to share their experiences & ideas.
      All these comments give me hope!!! nd the prayers help also….
      (((hugs)))& ***nose bumpsss*** Sherri-Ellen & Dharth Henry xxxx

  • Hello, Purrince Siddhartha Henry and Mum. I am so glad you have friends with experience who can give advice. I will be saying extra prayers for both of you.

    • Hello Susan: Have you read the comments?? WOW!!! So much good advice & suggestions. I am overwhelmed with the love & support here. And your prayers also help us ALOT dear friend!!!
      (((hugs))) Sherri-Ellen & **nose bumpsss** Dharth Henry xxxx

    • Many thanks Marilyn!!! Prayers are always gratefully received here!
      Thank you for bringing Missy by; you know I am sure Siddhartha Henry REALLY DOES LIKE seeing her. He looks for her every day……I have a feeling you might have to bring her to the patio this Winter so they can ‘visit’, lol…..
      Seriously……
      And I am going to take things a day at a time & continue to look for help.
      (((hugs))) Sherri-Ellen & ~~~head rubsss~~~ Siddhartha Henry~~~

  • Time for a new Dr.-this one is useless and a quack! I can’t imagine a 10 pound cat being a threat to anyone’s safety and my offer still stands. I have Polar Bear and KaTwo that are easily overstimulated and scratch me often.I wish I had advice , but my only advice is change Doctors.
    Phoebe here- my Mom and I will die of broken hearts if anything happens to you my love- and you know you are welcome to live with us. XO and love

    • Mee-you Purrincess Phoebe an Lady Ellen do not wurry! Mee NOT goin back to that Quacker efurr!!! LadyMum sayss shee will use thee suggestions here an do her best fur mee! No more of this hopin sum Vet will help. They all do not want to deal with ‘problem katss’ that were born inn barnss…Dr. Michael made THAT cleer!!! 😉
      And darling Phoebe mee iss all rite. All will bee well. Mee luvss you sweet gurl an mee not goin anywhere…
      *****paw kissesss***** an ❤ LUV ❤ yur Purrince, Siddhartha Henry xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • This seems so irresponsible to me for a vet who has just met Siddhartha to suggest euthanasia. We think you should definitely try some medication. We know he can be unpredictable, but we also know you would never get over the guilt if you had him put down. You are in Mom’s prayers every single day, but she will add some extras. Sending all our love. XOCK, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth, Calista Jo and your Aunty Janet 💗♥️💕💜😻💗💜💕❤️

  • I am sure the vet was doing what he thought best but this is not the right approach for you. I can sense that in how you and mum write. Your mum’s distress is evident and you are upset too. I know you will get more detailed responses than I can provide but my feelings are these.

    MsPhoebeCat has some suggestions that are definitely possibilities. Kitty Prozac has been used on many cats with success I am sure, and a behaviourist is a possibility – when finances might allow. See if the Prozac can be got by a vet for you.

    Behavioural issues are not the end of the world, and I suggest that you do some online research with a pencil and notebook at your side. Makes notes on the various issues and any possible treatments that worked (and those that did not so you recognise when something needs to be reviewed).

    Knowledge is power. Research, reading, and staying calm is something you both can be involved with.

    Here’s a story of hope. A longtime Yahoo group UK friend took on a seemingly hopeless case. A small black cat utterly traumatised due to being bought, owners went to Ausralia for 6 months and their ‘friend fed him once a day and left him alone. Stan’s issues were immense and the rescue said to my friend, you are his last hope. Stan hid in my friend’s rafters, went missing for days, but with a lot of patience and doing things at HIS pace – Stan is now a normal cat. Now, we are talking YEARS here, not simply months as your vet might think is a good length of time. Stan took a long LONG time to adjust and he did it wwith my friend’s help and loving care. My point is Stan did it so Sidhartha can too. It will simply take time, and perhaps a lot of it.

    BUT IT CAN HAPPEN. So Do not give up hope.

    • Thank you Marjorie for the support & sharing the story of Stan Cat! I know I can help Siddhartha Henry ‘find’ his inner self & I am going to continue looking for answers!
      Sherri-Ellen ❤

  • You’ve been through so much together and I think
    You have to try some calming medications on him! Find a verb.
    Who is more compassionate is my suggestion!

    • Shalom Toby I DO rub Bach’s in P SH’s ears when needed. And now I do it as soon as he starts to get a bit ‘crazypants’ & it calms him down.
      I also will continue with the Feliway Diffuser.
      I am not sure what you mean by ‘find a verb’??? Can you clarify for me?
      As for compassionate, since I was thrown out of GB Pet Vet I have no found a properly compassionate Vet yet! 😦
      Stay safe thru Hurricane Matthew dear friend.
      ((((hugs)))) Sherri-Ellen & ***paw patss*** Siddhartha Henry xxxx

  • Yes – any cat (or dog – or any other sentient being) CAN “go off” at any time – especially if they have been stressed or have other lingering physical effects from things in their past. I have told you about “Peaches” – who was stuck up a tree for 3 days during a snowstorm in 2013. She still has some forms of aggression – mostly growling and vocalizing now – and is very sensitive to being touched in certain areas. She has now taken to coming to sleep with me, and loves to have her face and ears rubbed – even though she only has half her left ear because she lost it to frostbite.
    Certainly the Prince is NOT a candidate for euthanasia. No matter how “authoritative” the recommendation you do NOT have to follow it ! What a sad thing that you and Siddhartha liked the doctor so much – at first.

      • 😉 You betcha Mary! How in G-D’s name could I have actually considered what this Vet suggested?!?!? It DID feel like the wind was knocked out of me. With all the great advice & suggestions I am sure I can help Siddhartha Henry shed his Aggression…..
        Thank you again for your support!
        (((hugs))) Sherri-Ellen

    • It really was a terrible visit now that I have had time to reflect Mary!!! And yes I remember what you told me about Peaches. You would never have euthanized her after her ordeal so why should I do that to Siddhartha Henry?
      And this experience has taught me that 1st impressions CAN be deceiving! 😉
      Thank you for your support.
      Sherri-Ellen ❤

  • I am in almost as much shock at this as you, gasping as I read it. Mary-Ellen perhaps knows S.H. as well as you do. Does she agree? I know how hard you have worked with him, even with your own health limitations. Maybe keep a diary with a rating each day of S.H.’s behavior on a scale of 1 to 10. 1 being you are afraid for your life and 10 being he is an absolute angel. See what you have after a month or two. Unless, of course, you really are afraid, which I don’t think you are. I am lifting you both up in prayer even now.

    • Hi Amy: Can you believe this?? It did not really ‘hit’ me until Friday morning when I aw all the comments here! Then I realized what this Vet suggested & I was ‘gobsmacked’ as they say in UK!!!! All I wanted was some ‘Kitty Prozac’ & this Vet is suggesting P SH is dangerous & should be PTS!?!?!? I am doing the scale rating daily; great idea!
      Thank you for your prayers Amy. How are you & Jim doing these days?
      Much love, Sherri-Ellen ❤

  • Nephew and LadyMum- this posting has me ANGRY!! This vet is extremely offensive to me in suggesting that you put the little prince down for some behavioral issues?! My boy Kaspars has some of the same issues and I’ve had him for almost 12 years. He was a former feral and has adapted to humans slowly, but it has happened. A big part of what works for us is he can run freely throughout our backyard and get out his aggressions. I know this is not possible for you, but doing what you’ve been doing with walks and time in the condo has helped immensely. THERE IS MEDICATION THAT CAN HELP! He can be put on kitty Prozac or Valium to help calm him, I have had kitties with anxiety issues on them and it helped. DO NOT WORRY OR LISTEN TO THIS!! You can also talk with, work with a cat behaviorist to advise you on how to deal with kitties with pet and play aggression. I know someone who is wonderful and am willing to ask for her help if you want to talk to her- she does consults on phone and Skype. EUTHANASIA IS NOT THE ANSWER FOR SIDDHARTHA!! Or any kitty as sweet as he is 90% of the time.
    This makes me so angry that this vet would take advantage of your desperation and suggest this as the only option! ANY cat can choose to go off on anyone at anytime, and pet and play aggression are not a reason to give up on this healthy, sweet boy. If you are willing to work with him, he CAN get better. Please let me know if you wish me to reach out to the cat behaviorist and that you are putting this idea out of your head!
    We love Siddhartha and are not willing to let him go!

  • Leave a Reply

