Thee epic saga of mee last 4 monthss as told bye LadyMum

Published October 30, 2015 by NylabluesMum

Namaste an greetinss frum Thee Purrfect Pad!Namaste handsWhew what a wild time wee has had here as all of youss’ know. LadyMum has asked if shee can tell thee story frum her point of view an mee agreed! Now shee mite go into a ‘epic rant’ so pleeze bear with her….shee has to get thiss ritten down an outta her system. All mee can say iss wee are blessed to have Aunty Sheila in our livess  ❤   OK LadyMum take it away:

Hi Everyone: The ‘littul Purrince’ is correct. This is going to be an epic rant! This whole saga started back on June 18th when a group member of our Feral Cat Rescue group scared me half to death about Siddhartha Henry’s health & said he NEEDED that FVRCP injection to boost his Immune System. As I knew nothing about Panleukopenia I deferred to someone who I thought knew more than I did. (my 1st mistake). Then July 7th I took Siddhartha Henry to Dr. Melissa & as she knew he had survived the Rhino Virus AND Panleuk she should NOT have given him the vaccine because his Immune System would not tolerate it. (my 2nd mistake).  As Siddhartha Henry’s bowels deteriorated I became more & more concerned. When I was offered the Homeopathic route by his former ‘Human’ I decided it might be a safe alternative to traditional medicine. (my 3rd mistake). He started the Homeopathy  treatment September 30th & during the first 2 remedies he was doing somewhat better. Not perfect but anything was better than nothing. And then things unraveled & back to Homeopathic Practitioner we went with another fur sample & we were told he had a serious Bacterial Bowel Infection & needed 3 different remedies to make him better. We were told “IF Siddhartha Henry DOES NOT RESPOND TO THESE TREATMENTS HE IS ‘FINISHED!” When I asked what she meant by ‘finished’, we were told “You can take him to a Vet & have him PUT TO SLEEP!”  Instead of trying to find a reputable Vet to check him out I agreed to the alternate treatment (my 4th mistake). 2 weeks into the regime of morning & nighttime treatments with remedies that REEKED of ALCOHOL Siddhartha Henry got very sick. He was howling & pacing & freaking out all the time. Eating so much & could not keep his bowels firm no matter what I did for him! The past weekend was a living H*LL for both of us. By Monday I was a wreck & locked in the bedroom crying because of his behavior. Sheila did get an appointment with Dr. Melissa for Thursday…..but by Tuesday morning I knew he needed to be seen that day. Dr. Melissa said she had ‘no time’ for an emergency! WHAT THE H*LL???? What kind of Vet care is that? I then called Dr. Dave’s office sobbing & begging for someone to see him. (I would have be able to take him to the new Vet right out of school because Dr. Dave REFUSED to treat him AND would have to pay full price upfront; no credit line; take it or leave it; so I chose to ‘leave it’!)  While this was happening Sheila called Dr. Ian & got us  an appointment for that afternoon. She also ran a stool (sludge) sample up to the Clinic to be tested while I was preparing a written timeline of events.  I found Dr. Ian to be kind, gentle, personable & caring. He said Siddhartha Henry has NO bowel infection or any infection period. His exam was all normal. Yes he had lost almost a pound but was hydrated & in great shape. Dr. Ian said despite all that was done to Siddhartha Henry he was actually in good physical health except for the Bowels. His diagnosis is IRRITABLE BOWEL SYNDROME due to his previous illness with the Panleuk that weakened his Immune system & made his bowels susceptible to the condition. There is a slight chance it might be IBD which of course we do not want…..so for now he is being treated as an IBS kitty. WE decided to go the route of changing food & introducing proper Probiotics into his diet. So now Siddhartha Henry is eating Royal Canin Gastro-intestinal kibble & wet food. He is taking Proviable-DC probiotic in food daily & that will grow proper flora in his gut. ALL Homeopathic remedies are stopped! If needed I can use Bach’s Rescue Remedy as it does not have ANY alcohol in its’ formulation. Since he has started eating the gastro food his demeanor is that of  Purrince Siddhartha Henry from before July! He is lively & playful & calmer & more loving. Also he is finally sleeping properly because he was  only napping for 20-30 mintues at the most & always so ‘hyped’ while on the bowel remedies…all that alcohol I suspect?!?!?!’ Already there is no pain in his eyes & he is not all cramped up. I have been doing research on Panleukopenia & have learned a lot. I should have done this when I was first told he had suffered & almost died from this illness as a kitten. I screwed up big time….I hope Siddhartha Henry forgives me; I feel like an idiot! Mind you I have never had a Panleuk cat before so I should not be so hard on myself. **sighs** I can tell you I am very angry with myself & at the group member who scared me witless to get that DAMN FVRCP shot & at Dr. Melissa for giving it to him. A proper Vet would have said he did not need it as he HAS natural immunity because he is survived the illness!!! That shot being a live vaccine made his body think he was ‘sick’ again. I feel just terrible about  what I have put my ‘DUDERS’ through. It could have all been avoided. Plus the costs of the Homeopathy is probably not refundable & I only paid a third of the total costs & feel awful because now these remedies are useless to me & a waste of money for his first ‘Human’. The other thing that has infuriated me is me believing he would die if the treatments did not work. I feel like his first Human & I were duped! All this to deal with plus my Pneumonia followed by Viral Sinusitis followed by the awful Flu virus I had this past weekend. My Immune system is also in tatters as are my nerves. Wednesday I slept on & off all day due to the serious fatigue I am suffering from now. It is hard enough taking care of a ‘special needs’ cat when well so trying to care for our ‘littul Purrince’  while being ill has done me completely in! I keep muttering “This Too Shall Pass” over & over.

The moral of our story: Do not believe everything you are told. Do your own research. Ask people ‘in the know’. Follow sensible advice. Question anything that seems ‘off’ or wrong (like a remedy smelling like 150% proof!)

My humble thanks & gratitude go out to Sheila for standing by us thru this entire ordeal with her quiet  rational calm (totally opposite to my frenetic hyperactive temperament) & assisting us to getting into a fine & reputable Vet Clinic & for all the times she has listened to me cry over the phone to her about Siddhartha Henry. I’d be lost without you dear friend! And just think….with proper Vet care & a new diet & less stress you won’t have to listen to any more distressed phone calls!!!!!!  As Siddhartha Henry would say, “WOO HOO!!”

Mew mew mew  you leern purrty quik there LadyMum….deer furendss mee iss not quite ‘out of thee woodss’ an it will take at leest 2-3 weekss fur mee bowelss to settul down butt at leest mee goin inn the rite direckshun. All thee support an emailss have helped us so much. LadyMum will need sum more rest an then wee will bee back vizitin soon. Fank you all fur all thee POPTP; now mee knowss how Aunty Nylablue lived so long with her Bowel Disease! It was yur LUV  a devotion to her that keeped her goin…now mee has felt yur total LUV an devotion an mee iss humbulled an so fankfull to call all of youss’ mee furendss….Mee LUVSS you LadyMum***paw kissess*** ~~~head rubss~~ an ❤ LUV ❤ Siddhartha Henry =^,.^= an LadyMum

Pee S: Wee send out an ‘epic’ FANK YOU to Aunty Susan who helped LadyMum with thee Vet bill an to Aunty Sheila who paid thee rest an iss letting LadyMum pay her back monthlee…..Both of you Ladies are ‘epic-ally PAWSUM!!!!!! 😉

74 comments on “Thee epic saga of mee last 4 monthss as told bye LadyMum

  • Thank god that he is doing well. You have gone through a lot. You really need not blame yourself for anything. You have done more than your best. Hats-off to your dedication. Siddhartha Henry is lucky to have you. Really.
    Wishing him all the love and care! 🙂

    It was a heart touching to read this. Really felt proud of you..

    • Namaste Prakash…thank you for such kind words. My eyes are filled with tears. I really thought I had lost my touch taking care of cats. I just did not know how sick Siddhartha Henry was as a kitten or that he should have not had that FVRCP injection. Between his prior owner Mary-Ellen & my friend Sheila (from our Feral Cat Group) they helped me to find out what was wrong with Siddhartha Henry. At the time I got him that injection I thought was doing the correct thing for him. Our new Vet told me to NOT beat myself up because I was misguided & did not do this on purpose.
      Siddhartha Henry had digestive issues even before July; it was the injection that pushed the delicate balance off. When I found out he could be saved & could have a fairly normal life I was so relieved.
      He will be on this low protein/low fat/Probiotic diet for Life but it is worth it… He means the world to me. Siddhartha Henry an I are lucky to have each other!!!
      Sherri-Ellen

        • You know Prakash not so much ‘luck’ in connecting with Siddhartha Henry as Destiny. Before Nylablue crossed over I asked her to find me my next cat & that I was looking for a Burmese boy I could name Prince Siddhartha……
          A week later I go to help at our Group’s Adoption event & all the cute 3 month old kittens are getting adopted…..Everyone turned away from the cat with the ‘ouchie’ eye…..he kept climbing the X-pen to snuggle with me. I called him Dharth….
          The rest is history! The Universe heard & answered.
          There is more progress. This Bowel Syndrome is not a static condition so some days are a bit ‘off’ but there are more ‘good’ days than not-so-good days 😉
          Thank you for your support….
          Purrince Siddhartha Henry means the world to me & I suspect to many others here.
          Namaste, Sherri-Ellen

            • Namaste & Hello Prakash thank you for your support & kind words. It was not easy to compose this blog as you can imagine. I was so worried I would have to put Siddhartha Henry to sleep. Thankfully the new Vet figured out what was wrong with him & had away to help Siddhartha Henry…..
              He is a bright light in my Life. And he is getting better as time goes on.
              Thank you for the good wishes. All good wishes to you & your family also.
              Sherri-Ellen & Purrince Siddhartha Henry

  • We are purring and praying for you until you are all better Prince Henry and way beyond. Mom is in there too. Wish we were not so buried with work here or we may have been following and could have suggested some things. Dad took us off all vax except Rabies which we have to have in PA. He even switched that to the 2 year shot so we do not have to go unless we need to. Love you and Mom!
    Timmy, Dad and Family

    • Mee-you Timmy Tomkat an Mistur Pete an thee gang iss grate to see youss’ here. Mee did pop over yesterday to visit….All thee Hu’manss are so-o busy! Wee need more staff Timmy!! Mew mew mew…..
      LadyMum sayss no more Vacciness fur mee because mee has permanent bowel damage frum thee FVRCP shot. Shee iss even scared to get mee thee Rabiess shot now.
      Mee iss improving butt mee not sure mee will efurr bee 100%…..mee nevurr was 😦
      Pleeze keep purrin an purrayin fur us. Wee appresheatess it so-o much!
      ~~~head rubsss~~~ Siddhartha Henry~~~

  • We are SO relieved to hear things are getting better! Don’t blame yourself for listening to bad advice, there was no way for you to know it was bad advice when people and vets sound so sure of themselves. You were doing what you thought was best for your sweet kitty. I’m so glad you found a good vet who steered you right. We send you many Havachon hugs and will keep sending positive thoughts to you! 🙂

    • Hi there sweet Daisy & Amber!! I think I have sufficiently blamed myself & ‘beaten’ myself up now. I was just so frustrated that I made a ‘rookie’ mistake. 3 lots of bad advice is a bit too much isn’t it??? In hindsight I wish I had just asked my friend to get Siddhartha Henry into her Vet. Then again he was not ‘in crisis’….The new Vet is a solid fellow. He KNOWS his stuff.
      I had emailed the Homeopath a polite account of what had happened & that there was no bacterial infection in bowel or anywhere. I asked for 2 remedies to be refunded to Mary-Ellen & directions for disposal of other remedies. I received a 2 line reply saying her methods ‘should have worked’ & sometimes they don’t (which is it?) & she was glad the cat (no name) is improving & she would speak to me soon. In other words, she took NO responsibility for making Siddhartha Henry sicker. Whether Mary-Ellen gets a partial refund or a credit with the Homeopath is a mystery. I spoke with Mary-Ellen last night & told her I was not going to continue with Homeopathy & I had asked for a refund on her behalf & now it was between the 2 of them. She still thinks Homeopath is right & I have ‘a right to my opinion’. I said Dr. Lang’s findings are NOT opinion; they are facts & the Homeopath could have killed Siddhartha Henry. So there is strain between us now. My focus is on Siddhartha Henry. Period!
      We love the Havachon (((hugs))) & send you lots & some **nose kissesss** (from Siddhartha Henry) too!
      Sherri-Ellen & Siddhartha Henry xxxx

    • Mee-you Travellin Katss it has been berry hard on mee an poor LadyMum. Pawss crossed fingss are goin to improve…..at leest mee has a propurr Vet now 😉
      **paw patsss** Siddhartha Henry xXx

  • Oh my little nefkitty!! What an ordeal you have been through. Thank goodness that things are turning for the better. We just need you to get all better now. We were so worried about the two of you!! Hogs and snout kisses. XOXO – Bacon

    • Mee-you Unccle Bacon it was a pawfull ordeal an mee iss glad mee iss on thee mend. It will take 2-4 weeks fur mee to bee ‘normal’…mee not even sure what that ‘is’! Doc Ian will speek to LadyMum an they will deecide what to do next. Mee has permanent bowel damage frum thee Panleuk as a wee kitt an thee FVRCP shot made fingss werse an thee alcohol remedies made fingss werser…..
      Mee feels more lively than mee did this time last week tho’!
      ***nose bumpsss*** an ~~head rubss~~ neffkitty Siddhartha Henry~~

      • I’m so glad that we are on the right steps now my nefkitty. We don’t want anything happening to our little friend!! Sending you get well vibes and prayers. XOXO – Bacon

        • Fankss Unccle Bacon mee has sum way to go….kitten stepss 😉
          Mee finks a lot has happened to mee an mee hopess thee bad stuff stays away fur-ever!!
          **nose bumpsss** neffkitty Siddhartha Henry xXx

  • that was a torrent of bad things what came down on you and the purrince… I had to learn it the hard way too, to check things twice before I trust… I’m glad you got an apoointment at Dr. Ian before more bad things were on the way to you. I send a big hug to you and to Sheila and Dr. Ian. POTP and crossed paws for a good time at the purrfect pad.

    • Hello Katty & Easy: It sure was a torrent of bad things between all my health woes & poor Siddhartha Henry getting sicker & sicker. I HAD spoken to 3 people who had used this Homeopath & all were pleased with her; so I felt confident about this treatment. Now I wish I had never agreed to Homeopathy because it only made Siddhartha Henry sicker & to think she had the arrogance to say “If he does not respond to these remedies h is ‘finished’…” Had Sheila no stepped in I would have had put Siddhartha Henry out of his misery….never realizing he could be saved. I will pass on your ((hug)) to Sheila & when I speak to Dr. Ian I will let him know how much everyone is grateful including me!
      Some ‘purrfection’ @ the Purrfect Pad would be awesome right about now, lol….
      (((hugs))) Sherri-Ellen

  • Can’t quite believe this tale of woe 😦 Thank goodness you’ve found a competent vet. If that is all it is then you, dear purrince, should be feeling a whole lot better very soon. Paws crossed for you dear boy.

    • Hello Annie: I too can’t believe what has transpired over the past few months. I tried to do the right things & unfortunately all that was done made him sicker. Very very frustrating…..
      Siddhartha Henry is responding to the new diet & has a lot more energy than he has had in the past little while.
      Thank you for all your support!
      Sherri-Ellen & Siddhartha Henry 🙂 🙂

  • Don’t be so hard on yourself dear Sis…you were trying to do the best you could for the little man. I thought he had an irritated gut. I knew once you got the right vet things would improve! I had that feeling it would. Solid poop yay for solid poop!!!! Things are going to be alright! Yippee! xx Rachel

    • I am so trying to go easy on myself Rachel. It is so upsetting & frustrating as Siddhartha Henry almost died twice in kittenhood. You KNOW how much I pride myself on knowing how to be a GREAT Cat Mum & I feel I let the ‘littul Purrince’ down big time. He did not deserve any of this & I am furious with myself, Dr.Dave, Dr. Melissa an the Homepath…everyone of us did something to contribute to Siddhartha’s poor health. I will work this thru…in time….At least we have Dr. Ian now; someone who has our collective backs. He has a long way to go>>> at least we are heading in the right direction!
      Thank you for your kind words. Love to you & Nick & Speedy ❤ ❤ ❤

      • You are a great Cat Mum. These things happen and there are a lot of people who are supposed to be trained experts who have different opinions and we rely on them to keep us in the right direction. Sometimes they make mistakes and we and our pets pay the price, the trick is to find the right people like the Vets to keep us in the right direction. You haven’t done anything wrong you just had the wrong people in place to advise you, but you have got a great vet now by the sounds of it so things can only get better. Believe in yourself you’re doing a great job and the little man is on the mend so all is good!!
        Love to you both,xx Rachel

        • Thank you Rachel I will keep telling myself THAT! I lost faith in myself obviously…Siddhartha Henry had diarrhea for almost 4 months. Just when I thought the Homeopathy was working he took a nosedive & I am told he has Bacterial Bowel Infection>>>then to give him remedies laced with Alcohol…I should have questioned the contents. He was poisoned! No cat should be given Alcohol in any form. The anger still bubbles. I am lucky Sheila was able to advocate for us & get us to Dr. Lang. Thankfully Siddhartha Henry IS responding to diet changes…whether his bowels will FULLY heal is unlikely. At least he is alive!!!!
          Love Sherri-Ellen & Siddhartha Henry ❤ ❤

  • Oh, I just saw abouts Purrince, I am so happy to read that you are feelin’ betters, and I am sendin’ lots of healin’ vibes your way, and tons of POTP!! I am sorry you had such a bad vettie experience…I thinks all of us have had that one time or another. It’s hard findin’ a pawsome vet, butts always awesome when we do! Keepin’ my paws crossed for you and your Moms!!
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

    • Mee-you Ruby it iss luvley to see you hee….Fank you so-o much fur thee healin vibes you sent mee. They all help!! An so does POPTP….
      Mee has had more than one bad ‘Vettie’ xpeereance an paws crossed mee can stay under Doc Ian’ss care fur thee rest of mee life!
      **paw kissesss** Siddhartha Henry xXxXx

  • What a horrible and protracted ordeal for you both! We are so sorry you had to go through all of that, but are glad things are looking up now, Siddhartha and LadyMum! We love you both, and will continue sending purrs and prayers of healing your way. 🙂

    • Mee-you Mistur Kevin it has been so long that mee thott fingss wood nevurr bee better. An LadyMum reelly thott mee wood have to be PTS….shee broked down Monday an cried fur so long an that iss when shee called Aunty Sheila an asked fur help! Pleeze keep sendin **purrs** an purrayerss because they all help so-o much!
      ~~head rubsss~~ Siddhartha Henry ~~

  • We are all so happy that you are going to feel better Siddhartha. We are so sorry for all the things you had to undergo to get to where you are. But we are glad that you are on the road to recovery.

    • Mee-you Annabelle it has been so pawfull these past few months an LadyMum feelss badlee fur not getting mee to a propurr Vet sooner. Shee thott shee was doin rite bye mee…
      So mee iss givin her LOTSS of snuggles an **nose kissesss** soshee knows mee furgivess her totallee….
      An yess beein on the road to recovery iss pawsum 😉
      ~~head rubsss~~ Siddhartha Henry~~

    • Mee too Travis an Crockett an Angelique…mee was so weak an feelin pawfull an LadyMum was so scared mee wood leeve her an mee thott maybe mee was goin to Pure Land! Now mee iss startin ALOT better….
      ***Hi-5’sss*** Siddhartha Henry =^,.^=

  • I couldn’t even begin to tell you how thankful we are the things are looking up. We were sick with worry about you pal. We all love you super bunches! Mum did good telling us all about it.

    • Mee-you Brian an Mistur Terry mee was terrified also. Ladymum has spent so much time cryin an wurryin an wunderin…..poor soggy LadyMum! 😉
      Fankss fur understandin LadyMum had to ‘rant’ a bit! Shee was taken advantage of mee fnkss…nevurr again shee sayss!!!
      **Hi-5’sss** Siddhartha Henry =^,.^=

    • Noodle thee Kat iss grate to see you here! Mee iss on mee new diet an it iss tasty an thee best part iss me had a normal solid Poop today! Day 2 an mee iss lookin an feelin much better….
      Fankss fur thee ((NOODLE)) Hugss; they werked well 😉
      Me eiss on thee road to getting well….Woo Hoo!!!
      **nose bumpsss** Siddhartha Henry xXx

  • Phew!!! We are so relieved and thankful you got there in the end!!! What a journey!!! They say we learn by our mistakes and I think you have for sure. BUT the fact that a professional recommended the vaccination just beggars belief if they already knew he’d had the illness!! Now Sherri-Ellen you need some down time to get your strength up and recover both from the trauma and your own health problems!! Sending loads of hugs and gentle purrs, Austin and Caro xoxoxoxox

    • So are we Carolyn & Austin!! And yes a Vet agreed to give him the FVRCP shot when she was the one who confirmed Siddhartha henry had had Panleuk>>>so it was about ‘easy money’. there seems to be a lot of THAT happening here! I am disgusted with many of the Vets’ here & with Homeopathy (as you can imagine). I have been in contact with 2 other Homeopaths who said none of the remedies should have smelled of Alcohol…
      So it has been some journey & I for one am relieved we have a proper Vet who figured the bowel issue out so quickly. In 2 days there has been improvement in Siddhartha Henry….even a solid poop today! I am so happy 🙂
      yes now it is time for me to recover also.
      (((hugs))) an Love & purrs, Sherri-Ellen & Siddhartha Henry =^,.^=

    • Fankss Ernie an Wally an Zoey fur thee **purrsss** they meen thee werld to mee!!!
      Doc Ian iss a geeneuss figuin out what is wrong an hee is so kind….
      Now me can werk on getting better….
      **nose bumpsss** Siddhartha Henry xXx

  • Dear Siddhartha Henry, you were my second friend in blogsville. I am so waggy happy you are starting to get better What a long time to be sick! My Mom says hindsight is 20/20, and we do the best with what we know at the time. Please tell your Mom that. Nose bumps from your friend Lexi

    • Mee mee-you mee iss yur 2nd furend in thee bloggie werld??? Mee iss trulee humbulled Lexi!!!!! If mee were a doggie mee wood bee waggy happy also! As it iss mee iss happy an reeleeved to not feel so scik an crampy an poopy…mee feels a lot better an onlee inn 2 dayss. LadyMum said yur Mumma iss berry wise an shee will not bee so hard on herself…..
      ***nose bumpsss*** Siddhartha Henry xXxXx

    • Hello Toby well DAY 2 of new food & the ‘littul Purrince’ had a solid poop!!! I came home to find it in his litter box & I swooped him up & kissed him something silly! He was still getting Dental treats so they did not upset his bowel nor did the L-Lysine Gel. This Vet figured things out quickly>>>my kind of vet INTELLIGENT! 😉
      I am a ‘happy camper’ tonite & Siddhartha Henry is calmer & peace reigns at The Purrfect Pad….
      Love Sherri-Ellen ❤

  • We are very glad that the purrince is getting proper care now. Please don’t blame yourself as you were doing what you thought was right for him. I would definitely report the homeopath the the better business bureau at the very least. I wonder how many poor pets ended up being put down because of her remedies. Phoebe and I send our love XO

    • Our BBB is useless here Ellen or else I would report the Homeopath….as it is I do not have the energy to chase BBB to do something. Word of mouth goes quickly in this town…trust me on that.
      I was vulnerable without a proper Vet so I do take some of the blame. However I DO know that mary-Ellen meant the best by taking me to the Homeopath. According to the Homeopath she has saved many 4 leggeds from the brink of death….funny that…Siddhartha Henry was getting closer to THAT brink every day….
      Thankfully we now have a proper Vet! Today was a normal poop! Hallelujah!
      Love to you & Phoebe & the crew. ❤ X 15 ❤
      Sherri-Ellen & Siddhartha Henry

  • Hi there, you guys 🙂
    Even though I’ve been following this closely, it was good to read this summary. It takes several years to study and become a veterinarian. Are we ‘ordinary people’ now supposed to read up on the corresponding amount of knowledge online?! Screw that. They charge you a lot for each visit — one would expect better [referring to that vaccine stuff]. In any event, it sounds like the little handsome guy is already on the right track. Booze! It’s horrific, just to think about it! Everything that possibly could go wrong here, did it, but there’s no way you can blame yourself, as you had only Dharth’s best in mind. Remember that, please. You have good people around you, which you have been reminded of now and that’s a wonderful thing. Continued prayers and positive vibes coming from the Maritimes 🙂 on the International Cat Day!

    Luv, hugs ‘n purr!

    • Hello Rebby & McDuff you summed this whole debacle up perfectly! And it appears I should have done a lot of research into Panleuk. I did some research but mostly about what happens to kittens when they get it….then I researched the FVRCP vaccine but everything I read said it was ‘safe’. Turns out it is NOT safe & can make a Panleuk cat very ill. And as for the Homeopathy remedies with alcohol in them I am beyond furious!!! I have not called the woman because we all know I would lose my temper with her & 2 Germans arguing never gets anything accomplished…(I am just stating a fact as I am 1/2 German & can be very stubborn, lol). I am slowly forgiving myself…you are right. Both Mary-Ellen & I only wanted to make Siddhartha Henry well. I am sticking with traditional Vet medicine now that I have a decent & intelligent Vet. Happy International Cat Day right back at you!
      ❤ LOVE ❤ } Sherri-Ellen & Dharth Henry =^,.^=

  • What an ordeal for you and Siddhartha! 😦 I’m glad you finally are on the right track with treatment. Granted, IBS can be hard to diagnose sometimes, but it’s really awful that he was given that vaccine to begin with – how could these experts not look into his having had panleuk already giving him natural immunity? I hope things are only up from now on – sending purrs for it to be so!

    • hello Janiss & Summer I so-o agree with you!! This has been one H*LL of an ordeal & it is so sad that I out trust in the wrong person. Now that we have a new Vet I feel relieved. And Day 2 there was a solid poop in the litter box! What a wonderful thing! 😉
      I agree that this all could have & should have been avoided. Thankfully Sheila interceded & got us into the new Vet’s. I too am hoping this is the end of Siddhartha Henry’s sickness & that I can build myself up also.
      The purrs will help; they always do! 😉
      ((hugs)) Sherri-Ellen & ~~head rubsss~~ Siddhartha Henry~~

  • Thanks for the whole story – it’s been a very difficult and hard road but let’s hope you’re both on the right path now! We continue to send POTP and love…….

    Hugs, Pam and Uncle Sammy

    • Mee-you Lady Pam an Unccle Sammy….mee knows it was a l-o-n-g story butt LadyMum had to rite about it here so there iss a record fur the future an to share what happened to mee. Bein a PanLek survivor iss speshell an if wee help one purrson sharin mee story it iss werth what mee went thru’.
      Today mee had a solid poop (an LadyMum was out an mee was OK bye meeself!) Wee iss on thee rite path now….
      Fankss fur more POTP…..iss all gratefullee accepted!
      ~~~head rubsss~~~ neffkitty Siddhartha Henry~~~

  • For Sherri-Ellen (although I can see you ,little Prince, reading over Lady Mum’s shoulder!). The fantastic thing about cats (not the only one!) is that not only do they get sick quickly,but they also bounce back quickly too. Put this behind you,know that you now have a great vet you can trust, rest,stop worrying about our sweet boy…and enjoy him.
    Jane xxxxx

    • You can sees mee Lady Jane??? 😉 Mew mew mew….
      Yur rite wee kittiess CAN bouncey back an guess what?? Today while LadyMum was out mee used thee litter all bye meeself an had a normal poop!!! When LadyMum came inn shee was so happy an picked mee up & kissed mee an praised mee. Mee had to laff to meeself; it iss thee good food LadyMum; nuffin mee did….mew mew mew…Oh here iss LadyMum now:
      Hello Jane; isn’t this amazing about Dharth Henry’s normal stool. First time in so many months. Dr. Ian nailed the problem right off & he has won my respect & trust. I am so relieved…
      Stop worrying…WOW that will be a novel concept for me! 😉
      (((hugs))) Sherri-Ellen & Siddhartha Henry =^,.^=

  • what a rotten experience you both have gone through. I hope you do not have to pay for any more of the homeopathy stuff. Proper food and probiotic have helped calm Savvy’s gut down a good bit. But it was clear she still was having nausea and burps and hiccups. So we stopped the probiotic and that got better! And now she eating about half her meals with raw chicken from Raw Paws Pet Food. So far, so good. Tummy seems even better. She is not eating then going straight to drink a lot of water to cool her acid reflux down so hopefully her upper gut likes the raw and finds it soothing. Paws crossed for you and me both, hugs

    • Hello Linda it sure was a rotten experience all the way around. Mary-Ellen said I do not owe her anything more but I feel badly she is out so much money. I suggested she take all the remedies back & get a refund for the 2 unopened ones but she said it was made ‘for Siddhartha Henry’ alone. I know what is what we were told but I am sure those remedies could be used again. I also told her I would not pursue this again…those bowel remedies were laced with Alcohol>>> no wonder he felt so awful>>> probably half drunk!
      You are dealing with a lot with dear Savannah there. Poor darling! I never knew a cat could have Reflux like we do…UGH! I am glad the RAW food is working. I included her in my prayers a while ago. We all adore & love her so-o much… ❤
      Please give her some *kisses* from me ok???
      Sending all of you our ❤ LOVE <3, Sherri-Ellen & Siddhartha Henry

    • Mee-yow Tabbiess O’ Trout Towne mee had a solid poop today!!! Woo Hoo!!!!!!! An mee was alone because Ladymum was out doing groceriess. Mee was a bit scared at ferst because shee iss all ways with mee. Butt fingss came out good an mee was OK! LadyMum admired mee ‘werk’ when shee gotted home. An praised mee….which issfunny; mee not ‘do’ anyfing…it iss thee new NOMSS what iss werkin well.
      No more treetmintss or poe-shunss…..LadyMum promised me this. 😉
      An mee can still have Greeniess Dental treetss!! Woo Hoo!!!
      Fankss fur stoippin bye, Siddhartha Henry =^,.^=

  • We three are glad to hear that things have started to be better. I know what it is like to have a sick cat when not feeling well ourselves. It happened to me. It makes sense that the medicine with alcohol may have made his sensitive tummy hurt. That also explains his behavior, cats get restless when they hurt, and the behavior is a way to let us know about it. But it is difficult to understand what they mean. Anyway we hope that now S.H. will get better even if slowly. Now S-E. you can take care of yourself and stop worrying. All the best wishes and hugs from us three. Vera, Paladin and Moon cats.

    • Hello Vera: Everything you wrote makes sense. I knew something was wrong & could not see the forest for the trees…I REALLY trusted the Homeopath but the 3 remedies smeled so strongly of Alcohol I realized something was not right. It does explain ALOT of Siddhartha Henry’s ‘crazypants’ behavior & he WAS in pain. he tried to hide it & did a good job until the weekend.
      I am feeing better after sleeping most of yesterday & last night thru the night. I will have a restful weekend. And yes now I can take care of myself.
      {{{hugs}}} to you & Moon & Paladin
      Sherri-Ellen & Siddhartha Henry 🙂 🙂

  • Hopefully you now have the right information and a good and kind vet I am so sorry to hear you are so poorly so prayers and good vibes from over the pond…..
    Bendahood here, youse seem to hve it bad brov and yer uman…but tings can only get better
    I am feling much lively my uman got bad gangerous foot no walks so ise pop out for a treat whith my friend umand we chat i allow stroke give headbut but will bite if she not behave not hard ya knose appy times ahead fer ya

    • Hello Amanda ‘Mum’ it is a relief to now have a proper Vet. I called & asked 3 questions today & B4 I went out for groceries there was a call back with answers….AND NO charge!! Go figure….
      Thank you for all your love & support; it means the world to me.
      Mee-you Unccle Ben Da Hood mee iss sorry yur Hu’man iss pawlee with thee foot….EEWWWW that must be sumfing pawfull. Issn’t Aunty Amanda thee best?? Shee reelly LUVSS you so try not to bite her OK??? Mew mew mew As fur LadyMum an mee it was a ruff time an with her so sick an mee so sick…Wee are takin care of each other an wee iss lookin forward to them ‘happy timess’ you meowed about 😉
      ***nose bumpsss*** neffkitty Siddhartha Henry =^,.^=

  • People mean well in their way but when we get down to it….we know our cats best. I have gotten products for the girls that Kali can’t take and have now called it quits. I will not buy anything unless recommended by the vet and for a good reason. Kali has been very much like Dharth with her bowels but after being on the special food for over 5 years, she can now tolerate wet food but I must be careful or the problem returns. We just want the best for our kits and to have them healthy and happy.

    Jean

    • Hello Jean: I agree. I realize that without a proper Vet I was ‘open’ to other ideas & suggestions & I was also very vulnerable….too much so. If there was a ‘do-over’ I’d ask Sheila to get me into her Vet’s back in the spring time! She is such a good friend to us….
      Today I came home to a solid poop!!! First time in the 10+ months I’ve had Dharth Henry 🙂
      I am so happy & I suspect so is the ‘littul Purrince’!!!
      (((hugs))) Sherri-Ellen

  • I am sorry you both had to go through all that. Praying everything will be better for him soon. I know nothing of that either. So everything I learned from reading you posts. Take care and I hope you feel better soon too. Love and hugs to you both.
    Sue B
    Charlie,Cashew,Garfield,Tubby,Hope

    • Mee-you Lady Sue it has been a ruff 4 months as you know butt there iss an end inn site…Doc Ian iss a good Vet; mee new that as soon as mee met him! Hee stroked mee an called mee “Hansum Dude”….so mee was rite at ease with him! Fankss fur readin such a long post. Part of what wee do is to share xpeereancess about kitty care. After all, LadyMum allwayss adopts a ‘speshell needss’ kitty 😉
      ***nose bumpsss*** to Charlie an Cashew; Garfield an Tubby an sweet Hope an you also
      Siddhartha Henry xxxxxxxxxxxx

    • Mee-you Lady Susan it sure is a l-o-n-g bloggie butt LadyMum had to get it ‘off her chest’ an shee wanted a record of thee eventss….LadMmum called with 3 qeustshunss to Dr. Ian an shee just got a reetern phone call with answerss!!! So thiss iss how a REEL Vet werkss??? 😉 Mew mew mew…..
      Mee iss restin a lot today as it iss rainy out…altho mee did sit out thiss mornin fur a while….
      ****paw kissesss**** Siddhartha Henry xXxXx

  • Leave a Reply

