Crossroads for Nylablue

Published July 19, 2013 by Nylabluesmum

"Standing at the Crossroads wondering which way to go..."

“Standing at the Crossroads wondering which way to go…”

Hi Everyone! Just checking in with an update. At this point Nylablue is home & she is at the Crossroads.

She ate some of her breakfast this morning; then a bit more before we left for the Vet’s!!. We spent at least 1/2 hour with Dr. Dave as he assessed her & checked her over. Her weight is 9.24 lbs which is up from 9.20 lbs on Monday. Not dehydrated so NO subQ fluids required!! She definitely had a reaction to the Baytril injection so no more of that for her!!! Dr. Dave decided to give her a 1/2 dose of Covenia (antibiotic) & then an injection of Depo (steroid). Then he got really serious & said that the next week would tell the tale so to speak. If she does improve & gets thru this episode then she will be all right til the next time. If however she does not improve & the diarrhea does not stop then it will be time to help her transition to the Rainbow Bridge…so it is bittersweet news. On one hand she is still with us & on the other hand it is a ‘wait & see’ situation. Honestly I am utterly drained & worn out beyond belief. I’m sure ALL of you know what I am experiencing. I want to THANK ALL OF YOU here who have sent such touching & heartfelt messages to both of us. Knowing Nylablue is loved by so many is wonderful…she is truly a unique kittygirl & it does my heart good to see how loved she is…from her beginnings who knows where to being a breeding Queen to going to a house where the people did nothing for her medically to the time I rescued her she walked alone & knew no love or compassion!! WE have changed all that!!! Together we have shown Nylablue just how special & wonderful & amazing she REALLY is!!! No matter what happens in the following week I will hold all your words of support, encouragement & love in my heart forever. Thank you all again…now let’s cross our fingers & paws & hooves & any other appendages & hope she makes a good recovery!!! Sherri-Ellen & Nylablue ❤

55 comments on “Crossroads for Nylablue

    • Hello Manfred…I appreciate the prayers. Between me being sick for a month with bladder & double kidney infection & then Nylablue’s Bowel Disease flaring up I am beyond exhausted & need some quiet time!!! Things have to improve!!! Fingers & paws crossed!!!
      Please give kisses to Baby & Sweetie from Nylablue & I. 🙂

  • Hi Sherri-Ellen & Nylablue! Sorry I missed this update yesterday. Hoping overnight things have gotten even better for you. We continue to pray & ask St. Francis to set things right. We sure do know what you are going through & wish we could take that burden from you or at least take that scary edge off & dull the pain. Sending even more love & gentle hugs for Nylablue and you.
    Always in our thoughts,
    Nanina & Poppy

    • Hi Nanina & Poppy: Nylablue is eating much better than she was. Her bowels have settled down for the most part. She is alert & being bossy & I am so glad of that!!! I keeping praying she has more time…as selfish as that sounds; I am not ready to let go just yet.
      Thanks for all your support. Sherri-Ellen xoxo

    • Yow Texas me iz werkin hard to get bettur…da meddycashun seemz to be werkin well n me feelz more like meself. Eatin more n keepin food in!!! We not bin to yer blog in a while…we hopez to get dere sumtime diz week!!!
      Lub ya!!! Nylablue ❤

  • I’m sorry to hear that she’s so sick. Yes, I know what you’ll be going through, Sherriellen … I never forget the raw feeling of pain as after Hadassah had passed over. We’ll be thinking of you guys … McDuff and I. Hugs and buntings!

    • Hello Rebby & McDuff!!! It has been an absolute nightmare! I went back to Vet with Nylablue Thursday with all her things to go with her if she was PTS!! Dr. Dave had one more med to try & I think it has done the trick….
      paws & fingers crossed!!! I remember how hard it was to lose Mingflower like you do Haddash….that pain never completely disappears does it?? may McDuff & Nylablue live a long time!!!
      Sherri-Ellen xo

  • Mum, thanks so much for the update. It’s great to read all the messages of love and support. We all know that Miss Nylablue is in the best hands. Hoping and praying for many blessings for you both.

    • Hi Susan: I have done all I can as has Dr. Dave..now it is in Creator’s care & Nylablue’s paws…she is not out of the woods yet however she is eating more & doing more catly things…
      The messages here are what kept me sane this past week. We are truly blessed!!!
      Hope you had a good week there & have a nice weekend planned.
      Sherri-ellen & Nylablue xo

    • Yow me EASY poochie…me eated sum of me 2 brekkiez so far n sum ‘tuna’tuna’….Am restin in da bedroom wif da fan on to keep me cool n comfy!!! You iz in me kitteh heart too.,,
      Lub Nylablue ❤

  • I am so incredibly sorry that you are going through this. It is such a truly awful time. I shall be praying for both you and Nylablue and holding out that she makes it through all of this. You have done a wonderful thing, helping her and giving her such a fabulous home. I know exactly what you are going through and pray that you may have strength during this difficult time.

  • Sammy and I are praying that Nylablue finds the strength to get through this episode with her disease and that the two of you will have each other to hold close for a while to come. I’m sure neither of you is ready to let go just yet……she certainly will tell you when she’s ready to move on and I know God gives us the strength we need to help them get there. It sounds like she understands the Bridge but isn’t really ready to leave her Mom – the two of you have taken care of each other for so long…….a most special relationship for sure. Please give her hugs from us and know we’re thinking of you and waiting for more news.

    Love, Pam and Sam

    • Hello Pam & sweet Sammy: I think Nylablue is finding a bit more strength to fight!!! She ate supper last nite…not a big meal but a good half portion. This morn ate 2 1/2 portions of brekkie & when she heard the can opener she was ready for her ‘tuna-tuna’…only gave her a tiny amount….
      We do have an amazing relationship & I am not ready to say Goodbye o her but know I have to accept it could happen. IBD in cats is fatal & it can be a swift killer….I agree Pam…she KNOWS all about the Bridge as she has been close before but hopefully is not ready….finger, toes, paws crossed….
      Love from Sherri-Ellen & Nylablue ❤

    • ((((HUGS)))) back to all of you & to darling Basil the Gentleman Poochie!!! So far today she has eaten 3 times…small meals but still eating & I see kibble missing from her bowl 😉
      Paws crossed…..
      Sherri-Ellen & Nylablue ❤

    • We appreciate all your love & purrayers for Nylablue Mollie & Alfie….Nylablue went out in Condo for an hour last nite using her toys as pillows (the ones she won!!) she is surrounded by love…paws crossed she will survive!!!
      Love from Sherri-Ellen & Nylablue ❤

    • Thank you AC for the support & prayers…I can feel LOVE from all the corners of the world for Nylablue & it humbles me!!! We are still at the ‘crossroads’….Nylablue has eaten today…even a bit of tuna-tuna!!
      Let’s just keep praying!!
      Sherri-Ellen & Nylablue ❤

  • Dear friend, I am praying for your angel Nylablue…My heart is heavy for you and I know you are exhausted..we send so much love your way…May tomorrow be a day of health and healing in every way she needs…Hugs galore…:-)

    • Hi there Trev & T’s Mum! Thank you for your support….I know most people here have been thru this sort of illness with their 4 legged…the suport & concern are giving me strength to carry on & I am sure helping Nylablue to choose to stay rather than go….Nylablue has eaten 3 times today 🙂 Cautiously optimistic….
      ((HUGS)) back & belly rubs to Trev
      Sherri-Ellen & Nylablue xo

  • To my Sweet Goddess Nylablue,you hang in there and fight to stay with us I have a great adventure planed for us both when you are feeling better,Mummy and me Love you sweetie,xx Speedy

    • < Phankz Speedy…me sneeked on here to say EEOWW to ya n yer Mum! Me iz eatin a bit more n even had sum kibble n nice cold watur…not runnin to da litter every 5 minutez either…Doin me best Speedy….
      Lub ya Bunny man!!! Nylablue ❤

  • Dearest Nyla,
    Mes has been purraying so furry hard for yous! (So has Kozmo and Jo-Jo and the Hairy Slobbery Sisters and Mommy) Wes has been having a terrible bout with my Chlamydophia this summer so wes know exactly how your Mommy feels. We is sending yours lots of Purrayers and wes is sending your Mommy extra strength and Love!
    Kisses
    Nellie, Kozmo, Jo-Jo and the hairy slobbery sisters Bob and Cinnamon and Mommy
    PS My Mommy sends your Mommy a special hug with back pats!

    • EEoww me Nellie Kat…me iz a bit more stable today…ate sum brekkie n now havin a bit of tuna-tuna….me can feel da purrayerz frum all over makin me strong; makin me want to stay!!! Oh Nellie dat Chlamydophia iz pretty ucky too!!! How are yer eyez?? Me haz bin sendin prayerz to ya too!!! We Sistahz gotta stick together! 😉
      Lub to you n Kozmo n annoying JoJo n da ‘hairiez’ Bovb n Cinnamon n to yer Mommy too!!!!
      Me Mum sayz PHANKZ fer da ((HUG)) cause she needed one. 😉
      Nylablue ❤

    • Yow Miss Dorothy…Nylablue here…yes me STILL here….me iz tryin me best to fight diz disease n stay wif Mum n Hitch n all me furendz here!!!! Me iz watchin over Mum n showin her da fridge to eat n sendin her fer napz n me joinz her. 😉 Me still got me ‘paw in’!! Purromise!!!
      Purrleeze send me LUB n nose kissez to me darling Hitch ❤ N snuggles to Mistletoe too!
      Lub Nylablue n Mum xoxo

  • Leaky eyes and heavy heart with all our love we send to you the hopes for an improvement.
    As da tabbies say St Francis is watching and sending healing love to you both.
    Stay as strong as you can,fight the good fight sweet little Nylablue..
    Love and kisses from us all Fozziemum and gang xxxxxxxxxxxxx ((((((((hugs)))))))))

    • Hello Bev & the ‘down under’ gang…I have leaky eyes too…I am hoping, hoping, hoping for an improvement too…just not ready to say “Goodbye” to my ‘Sweet Feet’ just yet….
      I am imploring St. Francis…
      Nylablue ate some supper & she is looking out the window from her pedestal bed….
      We are in this together…with so much love from all around the world Nylablue just might make it!!!
      Love } & ~~head rubz~~Sherri-Ellen & Nylablue xo

      • I hope so my friend…there are so many positive thoughts coming your way,and it doesn’t matter what people believe in whatever they hold dear as a belief they are sending their thoughts to you …
        Huge hugs Bev and the gang xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

        • I hear you Bev!! I am Jewish & Aboriginal by faith but I embrace the belief of Saints & Angels…there are realms we know little about!!! No matter what we believe we ALL LOVE OUR 4 LEGGEDS with all our hearts & souls & that is what binds us together….
          (((HUGS))) back my friend….we are in this together!!!
          Sherri-Ellen & Nylablue ❤

    • Leaky eyes here too Savvy & Linda…I laid in bed with tears streaming down my face last nite. I felt like my heart would shatter in a million pieces…today has put off that…for a while….hopefully a long while…
      Nylablue is doing her best to fight now….time will tell.
      {{{{{HUGS}}}}} & *paw pats* to you both from Sherri-Ellen & Nylablue ❤

    • Hello sweet Sparkle…thank you for stopping by. I too am hoping things turn around in a good way…..for now I am kind of holding my breath & waiting….time will tell…we have all purrayed & crossed our parts & Dr. Dave has done all he can….hopefully Nylablue is strong enough to fight the infection off.
      *paw pats* Sherri-Ellen & Nylablue xo

  • Miss Nylablue feels as if she is one of my very own, and my heart feels like it is breaking with the fear that she will not pull through. I am really praying that your love for each other will give her the strength and will to get well so that you can have many more years together. I won’t stop praying until she is out of the woods and well again. Sending her and you, SherriEllen, bunches of prayers, love and hugs, Janet and the kitties

    • it is 3:13am, I have been waiting with fingers crossed for an update, so glad to hear that Nylablue is still with you,I am sure she will pull through, Nylablue would bot want to leave you and your love ! please give her a kiss from me,I was holi g you may have the parcel by now, love you loads xxx sorry about typos, in bed on mobike fone

      • Hi Eevee: yes yes the parcel arrived today! I just opened it a while ago!! Thank you so much for everything!!! I will keep that pouch close by 😉
        I love the book & will read it when I have a quiet moment!!! So much has happened today I fell behind on emails & posts….I have not been on FB tonite & won’t be for a day or 2. Laptop is acting up so if I disappear it means I am wrangling the back-up one….I am beyond tired & need to get my head down…I hope you get some sleep too Sis!!! Lots of Love from us here to you there ❤

    • Hello Janet…Nylablue is everyone’s cat here I believe!! She came from such a bad beginning & she has grown & blossomed so much. Since we joined WP we have found so many like minded people & a home for our blog!!
      I am not asking for years with Nylablue; she is too sick for that….I would be happy with even a year….but it is out of my hands. I had ‘the talk’ with nylablue last nite about going to the Bridge. I think she choose to hold on & fight for a while longer but I have no illusions that she could leave quite suddenly. That is the nature of Bowel Disease. It is devastating!! All we can do is pray together as we have been & hope Nylablue can fight off the infection & make it thru these next few days……thank you for your words of support & comfort!!
      Sherri-Ellen & Nylablue too ❤

    • Hi Jane & Maple Syrup Mob 4 leggeds. Lovely to ssee you here. Thank you for your ‘purrayers’; please keep them going…Nylablue needs all she can get!
      Sherri-Ellen & Nylablue ❤

  • Nyla. ewe still haz plentee oh fite in ewe N it bee time ta kick azz de nastee infectshunz N say…ewe ain’t gonna get me coz eye iz way better N stronger N ewe ya stooooooopid aza rood stoooooopid burd stoooooipid infectshunz B eye am gonna bee heer still at christmas time N eye am gonna bee eatin toona N flounder. and may bee even butter N cake.

    sendin de blessings oh St Francis yur way, seer e iz lee …. long with purrz oh plentee N prayers two Nyla. we hope ewe uz on de road ta ree coverree N ya stay on de road ta ree coverree. high paws N headbonks…ouch.

    loves frum de land oh trout

    xoxo

    • Yow me fave Tabbies of Trout Town…Nylablue here…Mum sayz me cuud reeply to ya ’cause she nose me missez bein on da puter meowin wif me furendz. Me iz gonna do me BERY BEST to fight da nastee infeckshunz off. Diz Bowel Disease iz bery bery strong tho n every time me haz an eppysode of it me getz weaker n haz more trubble fightin da illness. Me iz tryin to fight n be brave…you are right dat diz infeckshun IZ stoopid n rude n no Kitteh shuud ever suffer from diz!!! Me SO wants to be here at Christmass time as me haz me birfday wif Mum da DAY BEFUR!!! Me wantz to have another Birfday wif her…KATGOD willin, right???? MMMM tuna-tuna n flounder….me wantz sum right now but Mum sayz maybee tomorrow….me DID have sum Oceanfish tonite n it waz yummy! 😉
      Phankz fer da blessin’s of St. Francis…meanz alot to an old kitteh like me!!!
      High pawz n nose kissez frum Nylablue ❤

  • Leave a Reply

    